The Little Things

Sometimes you just have to force yourself out of a negative state of mind. Yesterday morning I struggled a lot to be positive with myself. All of the things I am anxious about kept circling above my head and I couldn’t break it. But then at my lunch break I called my boyfriend, Landon, and we just chatted about random things. That was enough to break my melancholic mind and suddenly I no longer felt heavy.

I was determined to keep that thought so all day at work I kept looking at things and doing things that made me happy (looking at Disney stuff on Pinterest, mostly) and it worked. My best friend Rachel, who I work with, was also having a bit of a down day, which oddly enough makes it easier for me to break out of a depressive state. At that point it is no longer about helping my own psyche, but rather someone else’s. To rid ourselves of these negative thoughts and feelings we picked up a pizza from Papa Murphy’s, went back to my house, smoked hookah, and watched Once Upon a Time and a new show, The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.

If you haven’t seen either of those shows, I highly recommend them both! Once Upon a time feeds our love of fantasy and Kimmy Schmidt helped keep us laughing and I think temporarily we forgot about our woes. It was nice. Sometimes it’s okay to pretend everything is fine; just every once in awhile. It gives you a break and suddenly you feel you can move forward. Each day no longer feels daunting. Kimmy Schmidt has a thing she does to help her through things. “If you can get through this next ten seconds, you can get through anything.” You count to ten and then once you reach ten you start over. I will have to remember that.

Thanks for listening,

Trisha

About trishamf

I am a 26 year old girl who loves everything green. I am currently working on a degree towards Parks and Recreation: Park Management and eventually would like to get involved in plant and butterfly conservation. I am an avid Yogi, marrying the man of my dreams this fall, and I have the greatest Golden Retriever in the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Little Things

  1. Sarah says:

    Just watched all of the Kimmy Schmidt show on Netflix the other day. Loved it! It was so hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment